Aga Khan Award for Architecture 2019 shortlisted projects

By May 30, 2019 No Comments

The 20 shortlisted projects for the 2019 Aga Khan Award for Architecture were announced today.  The projects will compete for US$ 1 million in prize money.

In January, an independent Master Jury reviewed hundreds of nominations. The 20 shortlisted projects   are now undergoing rigorous investigations by a team of experts who visit and evaluate each project on-site.  Their reports are the basis for the Master Jury’s selection of the eventual laureates. It should be noted that projects commissioned by the Aga Khan or any of the institutions of the Aga Khan Development Network (AKDN) are ineligible for the Award. To be eligible for consideration in the 2019 Award cycle, projects had to be completed between 1 January 2012 and 31 December 2017, and should have been in use for at least one year.

The full list of the 20 shortlisted projects can be found at the Awards website.

Below are some of the images from the shortlisted projects.

Inauguration day, Warka Water, Ethiopia

Ashinaga Dormitory, Uganda

Courtyard House Plugin, China

AM Residence, Indonesia